MAKING MOVIES

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/3

Known for an innovative approach to music inspired by American and Latin cultures, Latinx rock’n’rollers Making Movies are “breaking down walls in the U.S” (Rolling Stone). Formed by Panamanian brothers Enrique and Diego Chi, on electric guitar and bass respectively, they are joined by Mexican-American percussionist and keyboardist Juan-Carlos Chaurand, and drummer Duncan Burnett. The foursome showcase their Latin American roots by incorporating traditional instruments like the Panamanian mejorana, and swapping drums and percussion for a dueling zapateado huasteco. 

 

Making Movies rose to acclaim through a decade of relentless touring in the US and Latin America. The band has shared the stage with Arcade Fire, Los Lobos, Galactic, Ozomatli, Tennis, Thievery Corporation, Jesse & Joy, Rodrigo y Gabriela, and Hurray for the Riff Raff. The band also collaborated with Rubén Blades on the single “No Te Calles," which NPR included in their Best of 2019 list and became the opening track of his album Paraiso Road Gang nominated for 2019 Latin Grammy Album of the Year.

 

The band’s political stance is straightforward and can easily be seen in their style and heard in their music: “We are all Immigrants.”

 

The band just completed their fourth LP XOPA to be released in 2022 on Cosmica Records and have already been booked at the prestigious Vive Latino and Machaca festivals. XOPA is the undeniable sound of a seasoned rock’n’roll band built atop of afro latino rhythms. Produced by Ben Yonas and mixed by Tchad Blake, XOPA builds up over ten tracks with an incredible list of guests that includes Marc Ribot, Rubén Blades, Dolores Huerta, Los Lobos, The Sensational Barnes Brothers, Jeremy Kittel, Martha Gonzales, Rev. Charles Hodges, Asdru Sierra and Alaina Moore.

Making Movies is leaving their mark and 2022 will be a testament to that.

 

 

BOOKING AGENT

Seth Rappaport | APA

sethrappaport7@gmail.com

MGMT 

Ben Yonas | Yonas Media

ben@yonasmedia.com

LABEL

Gil Gastelum 

gil@cosmica-artists.com

Lana Mack

lana@cosmica-artists.com

Jeanette Diaz

jeanette@cosmica-artists.com

Reese Short

reese@cosmica-artists.com

PRESS INQUIRIES

Lauren Horne | Yonas Media

lauren@yonasmedia.com